1905, the Southern Railway built a railroad tunnel through
the edge of Lookout Mountain, which permanently sealed
off the natural entrance to the cave. In 1923, Leo Lambert,
a local cave enthusiast, formed a corporation for the
purpose of opening the historic Lookout Mountain Cave
to the public. Then, in 1928, a site for an elevator shaft
into the original cave was selected and drilling began.
drilling straight down through solid limestone rock, a
small opening was found at the 260 foot level that measured
two feet high and four feet wide. Mr. Lambert decided
to explore this opening. After 17 hours, he emerged and
described many beautiful rock formations and a spectacular
waterfall. The entrance building was modeled after a fifteenth
century Irish castle and was constructed from limestone
excavated from the elevator shaft.